How to pack for moving abroad?

First of all, I know that it’s been a while since my last post but it’s so crazy, I had loads of things to do! I was so busy with the local paper work here. Besides, I went for a small vacation with my husband as his season will finish only after I leave for Dubai. And of course, packing plans take a long time! This is why it took me a while to write another post and actually I want to help you with this packing stuff as it’s quite difficult while moving abroad.

First and most important advice ; prepare a checklist! This is really important as you don’t want to forget any single thing if you are moving abroad. Because this is not a vacation packing so there will be much more stuff that you’ll have to take with you. At the end of the post,  I’ll share my checklist for you so this task may help you to create your own one. The checklist may contain main titles and then write each related stuff under that title. It’s quite easy to make one but too difficult at the same time to remember everything and not to forget a single thing 🙂

Now I am going to talk about another facility that will help you a lot while packing ; Packing Cubes! These small things really help you a lot! It’s a fact that you’ll try to maximize all the space in your suitcase without going over the weight limit. But what about being organized? Of course you can use the plastic bags to get your items organized and together. But here, I’ll introduce you another useful friend of mine. I assure you that you’ll love these cubes. They help you not only with the space but keeping your stuff clean as well. You can separate your liquid stuff from your clothes but put it in the same luggage. Here comes what I got for me; for my turkish followers I’ll link down the website too.

http://pinkpozitif.sopsy.com/urun/pembe-ve-duzenli-bavul-ici-duzenleyici/148357

148357_25717_1404299271_1000

I bought them online and they came to me in a cute, nice package. They also have sent me some gifts with the stuff.

20150310_134440 20150310_134923

That’s nice when somebody you don’t know treat you with some small gifts. I have to say that these little cute things have made my day. 🙂 To give more details about my packing process, I’ll make a video on my youtube channel once I get it all ready.  (Here’s a link to my youtube channel , https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEvSa_rfu7MxPit96LkiM7Q/feed ) I’m brand new to these youtube things but I’ll keep learning and improving my skills :p

So lastly I’ll share my own checklist with you guys as I promised above. I hope it’ll be helpful for you all.

TUGCE’S PACKING CHECKLIST / MOVING ABROAD

  • CLOTHES & SHOES
Beach cover-up Belt Comfortable walking shoes
Dress(es) Dress shoes GYM Clothes
Gloves/mittens  Black Trousers (for training) Jacket/fleece
Jewelry Big black handbag (for training) Underwear
Pajamas/sleepwear Pants/trousers Rain boots
Raincoat Sandals Scarf
Shirts Shorts Shower shoes
Slippers Socks Stockings (Skin Color)
Formal wear (1st day of induction) Sweaters Sweatshirts
Swimsuit Sneakers T-shirts
Underwear Watch (As a part of uniform)
  • TOILETRIES AND PERSONAL CARE
Body lotion Clothesline Cologne/perfume
Conditioner Face brush Cosmetics
Cotton swabs Curling iron/hair straightener Deodorant
Eye drops (for the plane) Face wash Feminine hygiene products
Floss Glasses Hairbrush or comb
Hair care products Hair dryer Hand sanitizer
Lip balm Moist towelettes Mouthwash
Nail clippers Razors and shaving cream Shampoo
Soap Tissues/paper towels Toiletry bag
Toothbrush Toothpaste Towel/wash cloth
  • ELECTRONICS / GADGETS
Camera and charger Cell phone and charger Converters and adapters
Extension cord(s) Hard Disk Tripod
Laptop and accessories Speaker Headphones
Underwater camera / GoPro Portable Chargers Tablet/e-reader
  • BOOKS & NOTEBOOKS (STUDY)
Address book NTV Series  Highlighters
Pen(s) Pencils  Notebook (for training)
  • DOCUMENTS 
Cash (US Dollars / Dirhams) Credit and ATM cards Contact info of the staff
Driver’s licence E-ticket Insurance information
Medical and vaccination records Prepare to Take-Off workbook Membership cards
Passport, visa and photocopies International Birth Certificate Insurance information

Please let me know if you’ve made your checklist already and I have some missing stuff here 🙂 I spend my days hoping that I won’t forget anything. I think, this experience is going to be the most amazing one and it’s going to be hard to forget, especially the flight to our new home! For the ones who’ll leave the same day with me, we have 28 days left and wish you all have an amazing time during these last days at home. For those who can’t decide whether to go or not for this experience, never forget;

“The hardest thing about the road not taken is that you never know where it might have led.”

Lisa Wingate, A Month of Summer

Never quit trying!

Thank you for reading! ❤

Edit: Here, you’ll see more packing tips coming from my followers and friends. I’ll be updating this part whenever I get new information. If you have any different and brilliant ideas like these below, please share with me or comment down below 🙂

The first idea is “vacuum bag” . These bags are awesome! They work for the same purpose as the packing cubes but vacuum bags still leave more space on your luggage. For further information I’ll give you a link down and you can check there what other facilities do these bags have. 

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Ziploc-Extra-Large-Space-Bag-Vacuum-Seal-Bags-2-Piece/24497284

IMG-20150329-WA0002

The other idea is rolling the clothes! This method also helps you with the space and of course all the tips here are really useful to avoid wrinkles. For the ones who are moving abroad, wrinkles may not mean a big deal but for the vacationers, I am pretty sure that you wouldn’t want to be faced with a pile of ironing when you arrive at your holiday destination.

IMG-20150329-WA0003

You can use the both methods at the same time. To save space and stop creasing, roll your clothes instead of folding them, then place them in vacuum compression bags. To use these bags, you put your clothes in, seal the bag, then squeeze the air out. This will leave you with lots more space in your suitcase and will prevent creases more effectively than folding.

Your ideas may always be welcomed. For these tips above, I want to thank my DOJ mate, Anastasia!  🙂

One thought on “How to pack for moving abroad?

  1. i personally love this post ! I will be leaving to Dubai on august 26th and I really needed a handy guide for packing 🙂 I will be sure to follow your blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

